International Early Years Curriculum

For students aged 2-5, we follow the International Early Years Curriculum, enhanced by daily Montessori classes.

Learning Principles

The IEYC is designed around eight learning principles, that we consider essential to children’s learning and development.

  1. The earliest years of life are important in their own right.
  2. Children should be supported to learn and develop at their own unique pace.
  3. Play is an essential aspect of all children’s learning and development.
  4. Learning happens when developmentally-appropriate, teacher-scaffolded and child initiated experiences harness children’s natural curiosity in an enabling environment.
  5. Independent and interdependent learning experiences create a context for personal development and are the foundation of international mindedness.
  6. Knowledge and skills development lead to an increasing sense of understanding when children are provided with opportunities to explore and express their ideas in multiple ways.
  7. Ongoing assessment, in the form of evaluation and reflection, is effective when it involves a learning-link with the home.
  8. Learning should be motivating, engaging and fun, opening up a world of wonder for children where personal interests can flourish.


Learning Strands

The IEYC is built around four Learning Strands that underpin all learning and development:

1. Independence and interdependence

2 .Communicating

3. Enquiring

4 .Healthy living and physical wellbeing

Each unit of learning links all four of these Learning Strands to relevant and engaging activities that can be adapted and extended to meet individual needs.

Units of Learning

Units currently include topics such as: To The Rescue!, This is Me, The Brilliant Bug Ball, Weather Wonders, Dinosaur Detectives, Ocean Treasure, Once Upon a Time and Animal Rescuers.

The units are based around exciting themes aimed to capture children’s natural curiosity.